OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, TELANGANA GENERAL ADMINISTRATION (ELECTIONS) DEPARTMENT

9th Floor, B.R.K.R Bhavan, Tank Bund Road, Adarsh Nagar, Hyderabad – 500 063.

U.O. No:61/Elecs.D/2025-7

Dated:30.01.2025

Sub:-Elections - Biennial Election to the Telangana Legislative Council from Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimnagar Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Teachers' Constituency, 2025 - **Preventive Detention of electors** - Regarding.

Ref:-1. ECI Press Note No. ECI/PN/177/2025. dt. 29.01.2025. 2. ECI.Lr.No.322/ECI/LET/FUNC/TL-LC-G&T/BIEN/2025, dt.29.01.2025.

-:000:-

A copy of the reference 2nd cited relating to Preventive Detention of electors of Biennial Election to the Telangana Legislative Council from Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimnagar Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Teachers' Constituency, 2025 is sent herewith to the General Administration (L&O) Department for information and necessary action in the matter.

C. SUDHARSAN REDDY, CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER & E.O. SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT.

То

The General Administration (L&O) Department. (w.e.)

Copy to:

18.

. At

e. (*

10

The Collectors and District Election Officers, Nalgonda and Karimnagar Districts (w.e.). The Returning Officers, Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimnagar Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Teachers' Constituency, 2025.

(through the Collectors & DEOs, Nalgonda and Karimnagar Districts) (w.e.)

// FORWARDED: BY ORDER //

SECTION OFFICER



A

भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली-110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. 322/ECI/LET/FUNC/TL-LC-G&T/BIEN/2025

Dated: 29th January, 2025

The Chief Secretary, Government of Telangana, Hyderabad-500003.

Sub:- Biennial election to the Telangana Legislative Council from 01 Graduates' and 02 Teachers' Constituencies - Preventive Detention of electors - regarding.

Sir,

To,

I am directed to invite your attention to Rule 21 of the Conduct of Election Rules, 1961 which provides that the appropriate Government shall, within 15 days of the calling of an election, ascertain and intimate to the Returning Officer the names of electors, if any, subject to preventive detention, together with their addresses and electoral roll numbers and the particulars about their place of detention.

2. The Commission has announced biennial election to the Telangana Legislative Council 01 Graduates' and 02 Teachers' Constituencies <u>vide</u> its Press Note No. ECI/PN/177/2025, dated 29th January, 2025.

3. I am, therefore, to request that in order to facilitate voting by postal ballot, all those who are electors for the election to the Telangana Legislative Council from 01 Graduates' and 02 Teachers' Constituencies and who may be under preventive detention, their names, number in the electoral roll, their places of detention and present addresses may be intimated to the concerned Returning Officers for the above election immediately and in any case, before the last date for withdrawal of candidatures i.e. **13th February, 2025 (Thursday)**. This would enable the Returning Officers to issue the postal ballot papers to such electors immediately after the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures and to receive back the marked ballot papers in time before the counting of votes.

4. The receipt of this letter may kindly be acknowledged.

Yours faithfully, IMA

(JAYDEB LAHIRI) SECRETARY

Copy forwarded to: -

- 1. The Chief Electoral Officer of Telangana, Hyderabad-500003. by Speed Post.
- 2. The Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi.

-By Spl. Messenger



भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली -110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. ECI/PN/177/2025

Dated: 29th January, 2025

PRESS NOTE

Subject: Biennial election to the Legislative Councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana from Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies-reg.

The term of office of 03 members of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from 02 Graduates' and 01 Teachers' Constituency and 03 member of the Telangana Legislative Council from 01 Graduates' and 02 Teachers' Constituencies are expiring on 29th March, 2025, due to retirement of the sitting members as detailed below:-

Andhra Pradesh				
SI. No.	Name of Constituency	Name of the Member (Ms./Mrs./Mr.)	Date of retirement	
i.	East-West Godavari Graduates'	Illa Venkateswara Rao	29.03.2025	
ii.	Krishna-Guntur Graduates'	K S Lakshmana Rao		
iii.	Srikakulam-Vizianagaram- Visakhapatnam Teachers'	Pakalapati Raghu Varma		
		Telangana		
i.	Medak-Nizamabad Adilabad- Karimnagar Graduates'	T. Jeevan Reddy		
ií.	Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad- Karimnagar Teachers'	Kura Raghotham Reddy	29.03.2025	
iii.	Warangal-Khammam -Nalgonda Teachers'	Alugubelli Narsi Reddy		

2. The Commission has decided to conduct biennial election to the Legislative Councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana from above-mentioned Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies in accordance with the following programme:-

1

S. No.	Events	Dates	
1.	Issue of Notification	03 rd February, 2025 (Monday)	
2.	Last Date for making nominations	10 th February, 2025 (Monday)	
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	11 th February, 2025 (Tuesday)	
4.	Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures	13 th February, 2025 (Thursday)	
5.	Date of Poll	27th February, 2025 (Thursday)	
6.	Hours of Poll	08:00 am to 04:00 pm	
7.	Counting of Votes 03 rd March, 2025 (Monday)		
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	08 th March, 2025 (Saturday)	

 3.
 Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by the Commission, as contained in para 33 of Press

 Note,
 dated
 03.11.2022, available
 at
 link: https://www.eci.gov.in/eci-backend/public/api/download?url=LMAbAK6s0PBp%2FNFF0iRfXbEB1EVSLT41NNLRJYNJJP1KivrUxbfgk

 DatmHy12e%2FzVx8fLfn2ReU7TfrqYobglg5mD1wFSS%2FZXPhOeD4VIKIMSPL0N5FWF1VoH8oPfnXgDsP

 9B2iaICr0Lo%2FnA%2Fc2NIJinhNMwmCRY5P%2FYdSwGc0IIcDqNyNaupRk6WhpbT1IK1 to be followed,

 wherewr applicable, during entire election process by all persons.

4. The Model Code of Conduct concerning these elections will come into force with immediate effect in the concerned Constituencies. The details thereof are available on the Commission's website under the link: <u>https://old.eci.gov.in/files/file/4070-biennial-bye-elections-to-the-legislative-councils-from-council-constituencies-by-graduates%E2%80%99-and-teachers%E2%80%99-and-local-authorities%E2%80%99-constituencies-%E2%80%93-mcc-instructions-%E2%80%93-regarding/</u>

(PRAFULL AWASTHI) UNDER SECRETARY